Gledhill Repairs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to the system

2 posters

Go down

New to the system Empty New to the system

Post  philknowles Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:40 am

Hi
I am new to Boilermate and also to this forum - if I am asking things that are covered elsewhere I apologise.
I have a Boilermate 2000 and as I understand it heating is controlled by the room thermostat and the automatic timer but the hot water system is not linked to the automatic timer.
Am I right in thinking that the hot water is stored in a tank in the back of the boilermate 2000 and is kept at a constant temperature by pumping water via the external boiler when the temperature drops below that level - whether I need hot water or not?
I have read that when a hot water tap is turned on, hot water is supplied (using the right hand pump) to the tap directly from the cold mains supply via a heat exchanger - does that mean that this is independent of the hot water storage in the back of the boilermate?
If this is the case why do I need the tank for hot water at all when I don't need central heating?

How can I tell if a pump is working?

Can I get any information about parts of the system working (or not) on the PCB?

These are probably very basic questions but I would like to understand how it all works - any replies would be appreciated.

philknowles

Back to top Go down

New to the system Empty Re: New to the system

Post  mike Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:02 pm

To be honest you are on the right track.
I would recommend that your read through the BM 2000 posts.
It will take time.
But you will learn a lot and by the sound of things understand it too.
Mike

mike

http://www.mgch20.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Post  philknowles Mon Apr 20, 2015 1:34 pm

Hi Mike