Gledhill Repairs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is my BoilerMate working correctly

2 posters

Go down

Is my BoilerMate working correctly Empty Is my BoilerMate working correctly

Post  tomg Tue Nov 18, 2014 1:27 am

Hi,

I'm new to the BoilerMate type systems.  

It would appear to me that the BoilerMate A-Class requires that the Hot water is on if the Heating is On.  Is that the correct way of it to work?

Of course it will work fine if you have Hot Water and Heating both on set to Timed or if you have Hot Water Constant and Heating Timed.  
Heating on Constant and Hot Water Timed doesn't seem to work.

How does this affect the Frost Protection?   If I where to leave the house for an extended period say for a three week vacation in the Winter I'd like to turn off both Heating an Hot Water.  Will Frost Protection turn on Hot Water too?

I'll explain why I'd like the Setting Constant Heating and Timed Hot Water.

I have changed the regular Room Thermostat for a more sophisticated one that permits me to set different temperatures through out the day and control the heat via the web while I'm away from the house .  So I can have a program such as:-

Weekdays.

00:00 Heating on to 15 degrees.
  06:00 Heating on to 20 degrees.
  08:30 Heating on to 15 degrees.
  17:00 Heating on to 20 degrees.
  22:30 Heating on to 15 degrees.

Weekends.

00:00 Heating on to 15 degrees.
  07:30 Heating on to 20 degrees.
  09:30 Heating on to 18 degrees.
  17:00 Heating on to 20 degrees.
  22:30 Heating on to 15 degrees.

I really only need hot water for a Shower in the morning and may be in the evening if I'm going out.  So ideally I would like the Hot Water Timed to come on at say 06:00 and off at 08:30 then on at 18:00 and off at 19:30.

I've found the house doesn't really loose heat that fast. So with the current weather the heating has only been on for may be an hour at a time two or three times a day.