Gledhill Repairs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

DHW luke warm

4 posters

Go down

DHW luke warm Empty DHW luke warm

Post  gasdoc Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:09 am

Hi everyone
I've had DHW supply issues ever since I moved into a new house in 2001. We live with very hard water! I'm a medical doctor (anaesthetist) with no plumbing knowledge, but not averse to bit of DIY! I wonder if anyone could help me with this problem.

The System:
Potterton Suprima 40
Gledhill Biolermate III

The Problem:
DHW supply weak and luke warm.
There has always been a difference between the behaviour of the sink DHW and the bath DHW.
The sink hot water has always been hot and strong until now, when the supply is adequate and less hot.
The bath hot water has never had a strong flow and we have always had to reduce the flow to maximise hot water temperature.
Now the bath hot water has a weaker maximum flow and is never hot, at best luke warm and very quickly cold.

Previous Repairs:
Boiler PCB replaced 2004
3 port valve actuator replaced 2008

Diagnostic tests:
I made an attempt at "resetting" the Boilermate Control PCB. I followed the "Comissoning the Boilermate Control System" instructions . Switch off mains, hold SW1 and SW2 and turn on mains. LCD display showed 888 and nothing else happened. No LED's flashing etc. Turned off and on again to get back to "normal" state. When DHW and CH are both off the LCD shows middle LED bar only on and "on".

Turned DHW on at single mechanical timer. No LED's, LED Bar 2 on, 3 port valve to hot water side (far left for me).
Turned CH on at room thermastat. LED 2,3,4 on, LED Bar 1 and 2 on, 3 port valve to CH side (far right). 2 mins later 3 port valve to mid point and LED's 1,2,3 on.
Turned CH off at room thermastat. LED 1,2 on, LED Bar 2 on, 3 port valve to hot water side.
Turned sink hot tap on LED Bar 2 and 3 on. Hot water pump on.