Gledhill Repairs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Blocked header pipe - consequences?

2 posters

Go down

Blocked header pipe - consequences? Empty Blocked header pipe - consequences?

Post  iain32 Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:29 am

Hi, appoligies for the long post, please bear with me......

I'd appreciate any advice with the following, I'm a service engineer, not in this field but not completely clueless.

I have the boilermate II system, it's about 9 years old. About 4 years ago the heating circulation pump had to be replaced and due to a dodgy isolation valve the main tank had to be drained. When trying to refill the system I found the feed pipe from the header tank to be blocked - seems very common! Despite various attempts I could not un-block and resorted to filling the tank using the overflow pipe at the top of the header tank.

This was successful as far as I can tell, no issues since - no air in rads when trying to bleed, no issues with hot water and no 'trickle' sound from inside the main tank.

However, in the last 4-5 months 5 of my rads have burst! Mostly with pinhole leaks. The circulation pump has been clogged with debris and when I removed one of the rads there was quite a bit of fine debris clogged in the taps at the bottom. All seems to point to accelerated corrosion? It's possible there was little inhibitor in the system for the last 4 years, although 1 bottle was added to the header tank it may not have made it in to the system.

My question is, could the fact that the header pipe is blocked cause accelerated corrosion? Is it possible to run the Boilermate II with a blocked feed pipe long term? The overflow pipe is clear so as I understand there is room for expansion? I know of other conventional heating systems with little or no inhibitor that don't show any signs of corrosion.