Gledhill Repairs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pulsacoil 145 overheating

2 posters

Go down

Pulsacoil 145 overheating Empty Pulsacoil 145 overheating

Post  darrenwray1970 Tue Apr 20, 2010 2:20 am

Hi Mike, sorry to bother but I have tried calling the 09066110005 number but it seems to be permanently engaged! I am a controls engineer based on the Isle of Wight, I have an intermittent problem with a Pulsacoil 145 unit which last August triggered the smoke alarm via steam release which, because the dwelling is in a block of flats, resluted in the fire brigade turning up. I checked the unit at the time, I had not seen one before but developed a good understanding of the operation, as I design heating controls it all seemed quite straight forward to me. On testing the unit it heated up in about one hour and cut out as it should do, during this time I checked the operation of the sensors by measuring temperatures with my fluke multimeter. All seemed normal so I told the customer that I could not find a fault.
Now some 8 months on they have reported scalding water coming from the taps again, most of the problems I have read of these units relate to under heating, not overheating. As I am from an electrical background I am inclined to think PCB fault however this might not be intermittent? I have asked the customer if they are using the boost function too frequently and they have said not. Is it possible that the blending valve may cause this problem? I am not so mechanical so unsure of this, any comments from your experience would be greatly appreciated as I am struggling for technical support here.