Gledhill Repairs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Green Light constantly on (familiar topic)

5 posters

Go down

Green Light constantly on (familiar topic) Empty Green Light constantly on (familiar topic)

Post  JT07 Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:10 am

Moved into the property 2 years ago, recently noticed the dreaded buzzing noise on the Boilermate II so being a novice, I checked this forum and replaced the pump delay timer PCB and pump drive PCB (cos someone suggested best to replace them at the same time given same age) AND the Capillary Thermostat - the latter because the green light is constantly on. While the buzzing noise has gone, the green light is still on 24/7 as well as the pump at the bottom, which is generating lot of heat in the airing cupboard and a real nuisance in the night due to the noise of the pump (lately been turning down speed of pump to get some respite as I work shifts). I have unsuccessfully tried following the instructions - turning the Vaillant boiler to max temp and turingn down the dial on the front of boilermate II. No problem with the hot water and heating. I can now only suspect the tank needs descaling and considering replacing altogether at great expense. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

JT07

Back to top Go down

Green Light constantly on (familiar topic) Empty Re: Green Light constantly on (familiar topic)

Post  MK Group Ltd Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:19 am

Hi,

Check that the Capillary thermostat is actually working this will require a volt meter, if it is working OK then check the temperature of your store water, use a digital thermometer in the dry pocket that the capillary stat sits in, It should be reading just over 70 degrees. If it is lower than 70 degrees then check your pump speed setting of your boiler pump, Increase it if necessary.